Skip to main content

Dual Enrollment Students: Guide to Library Resources & Services: Books and Articles

Direct comments to aanderson@nvcc.edu

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off campus access to the library catalog, article databases, and eBooks is available to all current NOVA students, faculty and staff. Log-in with your MyNOVA username and password when prompted.

Library Catalog

Search Library Catalog for books, eBooks, DVDs & streaming video.

 

Advanced Search | My Account

Library Catalog Search Tips

1. Use only the most essential words related to your topic.

2. Not enough results?  Try related terms, or more general terms -- for example, instead of poodles, try dogs.

3. Too many results?  Be more specific -- for example, instead of computers, try social media AND privacy.  

4. In your list of results, check the menu on the left for ways to limit your results, such as by resource type, library or publication date.

5. Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA campus libraries sent to the NOVA campus library of your choice for pick up.

eBooks

Many of the eBooks from the eBooks collections can be found using the library catalog. You can also search directly through the recommended eBook databases below. Login with your MyNOVA Username and Password when prompted. More information on downloading eBooks.

Article Databases

NOVA Libraries subscribes to magazines, journals and newspapers through online databases. The three article databases listed below are useful for finding information on most topics. You may also look under Databases by Subject to find a listing of additional subject databases by academic discipline.

Article Databases Search Tips

1. Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. 

2. Put the word AND between each new word.

  bullying AND schools AND prevention

3. ​​Use quotation marks ( "  " ) around two or more words; this tells the database to look for the words together, as a phrase.

"higher education" AND tuition

4. Look for additional keywords or subjects offered in the article record or subject listing. 

5. Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.