Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Reference, eBook, and Article Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowTopic overviews for students. Includes introductory reference articles on a range of topics, including health. (VIVA, NVCC)
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowTopic overviews for health professionals. A clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Also includes medication information. (For information on citing DynaMed resources in APA style, click on the "Citing Sources" tab in this guide.) (NVCC)
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based resource designed for point of care. Includes videos, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, patient education handouts, drug information and continuing education materials. (NVCC)
- R2 Library This link opens in a new windowThe R2 Digital Library is a collection of more than 800 eBooks featuring a comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health titles. Also includes medication information. (NVCC)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes in-depth e-books, encyclopedias and scholarly journal articles. It also includes Review articles, which provide an overview of what scholarly sources say about a topic. After doing your search, we recommend limiting your results to just BOOK CHAPTERS, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, and REVIEW ARTICLES.
Database Search Tips
- Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. For example:
What are the effects of caffeine on blood pressure?
- Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
blood pressure AND caffeine
- Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words).
"blood pressure" AND caffeine
- In Gale eBooks, Ovid Books, and R2 Library, use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include articles with caffeine or caffeinate or caffeinated.
"blood pressure" AND caffein*