Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Encyclopedia Articles
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research (so check to be sure you are getting information from one of the legal encyclopedias). Includes West's Encyclopedia of American Law and Gale Encyclopedia of American Law.
When you open Gale eBooks, use the "Basic Search" box in the upper left to get the most results.
Some of the encyclopedia searches in Gale eBooks won't have your term in the title of the article, but the term will be addressed within the article itself (trespass to land and contributory negligence are a couple examples) - click on the articles and do CTRL F (or command F if using a Mac) to search the text of the article for your term.
eBooks
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects, including law. Includes the title Torts in a Nutshell. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowBooks on a variety of academic subject areas, including law. Includes Oxford Introductions to U.S. Law: Torts
Search Tips:
- If your topic is cross-disciplinary, you may need to add additional context to your search to just get legal-related sources.
For example:
patient dumping AND law
sexual harassment AND law
- If you don't get enough results, you can make Ebsco eBooks search the entire text of the books for your topic.
On the main search page, change the dropdown menu from "Select a Field" to TX All Text Fields :
- For topics with two terms, search them separately. For example:
misrepresentation AND law
fraud AND law
family immunity
spousal immunity
spouse AND immunity