RAD Research Databases (NOVA subscribed and Open Access)
Research Resources
NOVA Libraries provides access to an extensive range of journals, trade publications, magazines, and newsletters relevant to radiographers/radiologic technologists and radiation therapists. Through both physical and electronic collections, students have full-text access to a wide selection of relevant journal articles, including XX of the XX most highly ranked journals determined by SciMago’s 2022 journal rankings of Radiological & Ultrasound Technology and Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Imaging. These journals are listed in the Periodicals tab of this guide.
The vast majority of these resources are available 24/7 to our students, faculty and staff.
- A comprehensive list of databases with radiographic and radiologic sciences, nuclear medicine and radiation therapy, and clinical medical full-text resources can be found below. A listing of full-text periodicals is linked in the left hand column,
- Users can request articles not available in our collections through the interlibrary loan system, the ILL request form is available both on the library website and in the students’ Radiography Library Resource Guide.
Research Databases
Hover over the info icon for a complete description.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals and eBooks, with a specific focus on SciTech and Engineering. This resource will search the entire SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA).
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1400 full text journals covering a variety of subject areas. Note: NOVA subscribes only to the Journals portion; other parts (such as Online Books and Reference Works) will display summaries and tables of contents only. (VIVA)
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOffers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries. (NVCC)
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowJournals and conference proceedings in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. (VIVA)
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEveryday health care information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, fact sheets, and magazine articles. (VIVA)
- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database offers complete coverage for top dental and oral sciences journals, an extensive collection of important full-text journals, many with no embargo. (NVCC)
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window(Formerly Health & Wellness Resource Center) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites. Appropriate for both student and consumer use. (NVCC)
- Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. (VIVA)
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowOver 400 peer-reviewed, full text journals representing many medical disciplines; strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary and Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, a collection of drug patient education sheets. (VIVA)
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowPublishes new research findings and contains medical videos. Includes coverage from 1990 to the present, with an index to articles from 1812-1989.
- Ovid: Journals This link opens in a new windowCurrent full-text coverage of the OVID Basic Nursing Community College Journal Collection, Journal of Physical Therapy Education, and MCN: The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing.
Also access to hundreds of additional full text scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Coverage for these journals is up until and including Fall 2015. (VIVA) - AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new windowA trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish, published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. (VIVA)
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. (VIVA)
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycInfo database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. (VIVA)
- Food Science Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of information on topics relevant to the food industry. (NVCC)
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA)
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA)
Open Access Research Databases
Hover over the info icon for complete description.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowA community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals, preprints, conference proceedings and dissertations provide comprehensive coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic. Full-text content in the database is available either directly from ProQuest or via links to publisher sites.
Education and Teaching Methodology Research Databases
Research Databases with Education and Teaching Methodology Periodicals
Hover over the info icon for complete description.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReferences to thousands of educational topics. Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards, guidelines and more. ERIC documents (non-journal literature) are available full-text, 1993 to the present. (VIVA)
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center is an index of over 270 titles from trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more. (VIVA)
- Chronicle of Higher Education (Web Edition) This link opens in a new windowNews and information on Higher Education. Includes videos, podcasts, and the current annual Almanac of Higher Education. Other features include interactive tools for career development and job searching. (NVCC)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. (VIVA)