Books and eBooks
The MEC Library supports the RAD program by providing general and specialized imaging, radiation therapy, and clinical sciences texts, current medical dictionaries, medical terminology texts, A&P texts and flashcards, anatomical and physiological atlases, medical ethics and law texts, medical references, and consumer health materials.
- MEC Library houses more than 8000 items, the vast majority of which are health science titles. The are hundreds of physical books specifically related to medical imaging: radiography, MRI, CT, mammography, nuclear medicine their practice and protocols, relevant conditions, anatomy & physiology, radiation safety, and patient care.
- Additional clinically relevant texts and audio/visual resources are available to our students and faculty from the other 5 NOVA Libraries, users can request items using the online catalog or through library staff. Resources usually arrive in 2-3 business days.
- 24/7 access to hundreds of RAD relevant eBooks through collections curated by the MEC Librarians, including: EBSCO eBook Collection, ProQuest Ebook Central, R2 Online Library, and OVID eBooks. eBooks from the EBSCO and ProQuest collections can be downloaded for offline reading.
- Subscribed and consortial collections with RAD resources include: Wiley Online Library, Taylor & Francis eBooks, Springer eBooks, ProQuest Academic Collection, Directory of Open Access Books [DOAB] and more.
ALL NOVA Medical Education Campus students, faculty, and staff can use resources and services of any NOVA Campus Library and can request resources from one library to whichever is most convenient for them. Northern Virginia Community College has a formal consortial agreement for direct borrowing from George Mason University and access to many other university and hospital libraries’ collections through interlibrary loan [ILL]. Students at the MEC are robust users of NOVA Libraries’ ILL article request system.
Borrowing, renewing and requesting resources information: https://www.nvcc.edu/library/materials.html
Interlibrary Loan request form: https://nvcc.libwizard.com/f/MEC-Library-ILL-Request-Form
eBook Databases
eBook Databases with Radiography Relevant Titles
Hover over the info icon for complete description.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use. (NVCC)
- Nursing eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMore than 800 Nursing and Healthcare ebooks updated quarterly. Includes clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care. (VCCS)
- Ovid: Books This link opens in a new windowA collection of e-books for nursing. Browse books individually or search across the entire collection. Searchable in the library catalog. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowBooks on a variety of academic subject areas (NVCC).
- R2 Library This link opens in a new windowThe R2 Digital Library is a collection of more than 800 eBooks featuring a
comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health titles. (NVCC) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals and eBooks, with a specific focus on SciTech and Engineering. This resource will search the entire SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA).
- Springer eBooks This link opens in a new windowIncludes books in the Computer Science, Life Sciences, Environmental, Medical, and Earth Science fields. (VIVA)
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of Humanities and Social Science eBooks. (VIVA)
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1400 full text journals covering a variety of subject areas. Note: NOVA subscribes only to the Journals portion; other parts (such as Online Books and Reference Works) will display summaries and tables of contents only. (VIVA)
Reference eBook Databases
Hover over the info icon for complete description.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFully-searchable collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles. (NVCC)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
- Salem Press Health This link opens in a new windowA full-text database that provides access to eBook versions of Salem Health print titles that are owned at NOVA Libraries. (NVCC)