Articles
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. (VIVA)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOffers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries. (NVCC)
Looking for something more specialized? The library has dozens of biology and health sciences databases.
Suggested Keywords
- diet OR nutrition and fat OR lipids OR carbohydrates OR protein
- diet and gluten OR gluten-free diet and celiac disease
- cancer and electrons OR oxidants OR antioxidants
- cancer and enzymes OR Gleevec and cancer treatment OR genetic aspects
- cancer and mitosis and "cell cycle control"
- cancer treatment and side effects
- cancer and DNA or genetics
- genetically modified foods OR genetically modified organisms OR GMO and DNA technology OR regulation
- genetic genealogy OR DNA testing and ancestry OR "23 and me"
- water conservation OR water-supply
- coral reef bleaching and climate change OR global warming and prevention
Full Text
|
|
|
Check the FULL TEXT box if you see it. |
Research Tips
◊ Keep your search simple. Use only 2 or 3 keywords.
◊ Look at your number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.
◊ Ask for help! Librarians are happy to help!
What If You Get Bad Results?
1. If you get very few articles, your keywords might be too specific.
Instead of: elementary school children who eat Doritos
Try: children AND junk food
2. If you get too many articles covering different aspects of the topic, your keywords might be too general.
Instead of: plants
Try: invasive plants
3. Article authors may have used slightly different words.
For example, instead of junk food, they may have used ultra-processed foods.