Skip to Main Content

NOVA History Collections

NOVA History Collections documents the history of Northern Virginia Community College as it has grown from a few classrooms in a small warehouse in Bailey’s Crossroads to one of the largest community colleges in the nation.

About this Collection

These images are scans of documents housed in the archives of the Medical Education Campus. The campus opened in the Fall of 2003 and offers degrees and certificates in the nursing and allied health fields. The archives are located in the Medical Education Campus library. This collection includes selected documents and photographs relevant to the history of the Medical Education Campus. Most of the items in the archives are legal documents and correspondence pertaining to the planning and construction of the campus.

Medical Education Campus History

In 1965, Northern Virginia Technical College opened for classes with 761 students in the Carlyn Springs Road warehouse, located in Bailey’s Crossroads. In the fall of 2003, in response to the strong demand for qualified health care professionals, the college opened the Medical Education Campus in Springfield, Va.

Known as the first specialized community college campus in the Commonwealth of Virginia, the Medical Education Campus meets the needs of college students interested in the health care profession, as well as offers courses to interested high school students and current health care providers seeking to expand their knowledge.

Today, the Medical Education Campus offers 10 health-related programs and features state-of-the-art classrooms and laboratories, dental clinics and a clinical practice site for nursing and allied health students.