Guide by Eliza Selander, Librarian
This guide is updated regularly. Community input is welcome.
Suggested resources will be evaluated for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.
Please send resource suggestions, comments, and questions to eselander@nvcc.edu.
Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Environment, Economy, and Equity
Image by Gene Blevins, Reuters. Winds blow flying embers from a burning tree at the Bobcat Fire in Juniper Hills, California. 2020.
On the toolbar (to the left in desktop; above in mobile), you will find tabs leading you to Books, Articles (under construction), Videos, and Podcasts. All listed resources are available online. Many require a NOVA login.
Within each of these tabs, the suggested resources are grouped by:
Environment (search terms may include: ecosystems, habitats, air or water contamination, toxins, pollutants, greenhouse gas emissions, pesticides, recycling, renewable or solar or wind energy, fossil fuels, petroleum, deforestation, overharvesting, biodiversity, ecosystem, forest management, soil erosion);
Economy (search terms may include: quality of life, economic development or economic growth, waste, consumption, corporate sustainability, supply chain, incentives, carbon footprint); and
Equity (search terms may include: underserved populations, opportunity gap, environmental justice, landfills, hazardous waste, drinking water, chemicals, protests, poverty, income inequality, public health, corporate responsibility)
Image by Frank Ross, AP. Earth Day, April 22, 1970, scenes at Earth Walk.
Suggested Databases for Further Research
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. SciTech Premium Collection > Natural Science Collection > Agriculture & Environmental Science Collection. (VIVA) - Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. The database contains full-text for more than 600 journals and 100 books and indexes over 1,500 journals. (VIVA) - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for scholarly journals and government documents on environmental topics. (VIVA)
- Salem Press Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of reference articles on global warming, environmental issues and forensic science. (NVCC) - Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA) - TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, and environmental pollutants. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. (VIVA)
- AP Newsroom (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA daily updated primary source resource from the Associated Press (AP) with images, audio sound bites, graphics and text. (NVCC)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use. (NVCC) - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Educational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels. (NVCC, VCCS) - Kanopy Videos This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a large collections of films from leading producers. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos. (NVCC)
