MEC Library: Equipment Snapshot
Hardware & Equipment
- 3-in-1 Printer, Copier, Scanner (color, black & white)
- Anatomical Models
- Calculators
- Charging Station
- Digital Cameras
- Digital Voice Recorders
- Headphones
- Without microphone
- With microphone
- With USB connector
- Laptops
- Large Screen Monitors
- Mac Workstations
- Memory Card Reader
- Scanners: 1 flatbed, 1 upright
- SMART Kapp Boards
- Teaching/learning Stethoscopes
- Whiteboards
- Markers & Erasers
- Wireless Keyboards
In the Library Classroom
(open for student use when vacant)
- PC (Internet access & Microsoft Office)
- Projector & pull-down screen
- SMART Board
- Overhead projector
- Whiteboard
Software Snapshot
General Software
All computers come equipped with Microsoft office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access).
ADA Software
- Windows Eyes
- Zoomtext
- Read & Write Gold
- Dragon Speak Naturally
Program-Specific & Specialized Software
Most program-specific software can be accessed on any of the library computers.
3-in1 Printer, Copier, Scanner (color, black & white)
Locations
- Inside the library
- Outside the library entrance
- Inside the Open Computer Lab
Features
- Back & white printing
- Color printing
- Black & white copying
- Color copying
- Scanning items to email
For more information on printing (including prices), visit: http://www.nvcc.edu/library/students/print.html
For additional scanning needs we have 1 flatbed and 1 upright scanner located in the computer bay near the front of the library.
Anatomical Models
Loan period: In-library use only with valid NOVACard
Models available
- Arm
- Articulated joints dolls
- Brain
- Feet
- Hands
- Heart
- Leg
- Ovum to embryo stages
- Skeleton-in-a-box
- Skill
- Spine
- Torso
- Upright skeleton (with or without muscles)
Charging Station
- Loan period: in library use only
Digital Cameras
Sony Cybershot DSC-HX7V
- Loan period: 3 days with valid NOVACard
- Includes: battery (inside camera), 8GB memory card, USB cable, AC adapter, and user manual.
Digital Voice Recorders
- Loan period: 3 days with valid NOVACard
- Includes: batteries, stand, USB cable, case, and user manual.
Headphones
- Loan period: In-library use only with valid NOVACard
- Options: with or without microphone, traditional audio jack or USB connector
Laptops
MacBook Pro
Loan period: One week with valid NOVACard (one week renewal based on availability)
Includes: Carrying case & power cable
Dell Laptop
Loan period: One week with valid NOVACard (one week renewal based on availability)
Includes: Carrying case & power cable
(mouse & headphone available upon request)
Large Screen Monitors
- Loan period: 1 large screen monitor is located in each group study room - reserve a group study room to use.
Mac Workstations
- 5 Mac workstations are located in the computer bay near the front of the library.
Memory Card Reader
- Loan period: 3 days with valid NOVACard
- Includes: memory card reader, and USB cable.
SMART Kapp Boards
- Loan period: 1 SMART Kapp Boards is located in each group study room - reserve a group study room to use. The third SMART Kapp Board is available for in library use only
- Includes: markers & eraser
Teaching/Learning Stethoscopes
- Loan period: in library use only
Whiteboards
- Loan period: whiteboards are located outside the library entrance, in the library classroom, and in each group study room - reserve a group study room to use.
Wireless Keyboards (Large Print)
- Loan period: In-library use only with valid NOVACard
- Includes: USB Large Print Keyboard
- Loan period: In-library use only with valid NOVACard
- Includes: large print wireless keyboard, wireless mouse, and USB antenna.