Annotated Bibliography
In your Annotated Bibliography, you will first make a Bibliography according to MLA format (in alphabetical order, hanging indents, etc.), and then write a short paragraph below each entry about the argument the author make in that text.
In your paragraph, you should discuss: a) the author’s argument and main focus; b) in what ways this work will aid in your argument for your research paper. You can comment, for example, on the text’s length/size/medium or how a particular chapter or data point will be useful to you.
Sample MLA Annotation from Purdue OWL
Annotated Bibliography Definition
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations of sources; i.e. books, articles, or web sources. Each source includes a brief description that summarizes the source and an evaluation which tells the reader about its relevancy to a research paper’s topic, its accuracy, and its quality.
For more information, please refer to the following websites:
- Purdue OWL: Annotated BibliographiesProvides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
- Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated BibliographyExplanation, Process, Directions, and Examples
Suggested Resources
The Penguin Handbook by Call Number: PE1408 .F25 2012The Penguin Handbook has established itself as the best-selling handbook to enter the market in eighteen years. The design and approach of The Penguin Handbook started with ideas and suggestions from real students, and thus it is uniquely successful when it comes to giving students the information they need in a format they will actually use. With unique visual guides and models for writing, research, and documentation, distinctive coverage of writing for different purposes, and Lester Faigley's clear, accessible explanations, The Penguin Handbook makes it simple for students to achieve success in their composition classes.
McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers by Publication Date: 2010 (eBook)McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers gives you the tools to: Organize a helpful outline before you write, Find solid evidence at the library and on the Internet to back up your thesis, Write effective sentences to support your topic, Replace common phrases with attention-drawing wording to properly articulate your ideas, Use smooth transitions between paragraphs to keep your paper flowing, Craft eloquent summaries and conclusions, Avoid accidental incidences of plagiarism, Run a thorough check over your research paper before you hand it in. Chapter 2: Doing Your Research includes a section on writing annotated bibliographies.
