Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to our NOVA Libraries homepage and select the Articles tab. Look under 'Recommended Databases for Most Topics' to find relevant databases. You may also look under Databases by Subject to find a list of additional subject databases. For example, if your argument is based on community colleges and student retention, search within the Education (EDU) database listing. If your argument is based on higher education and the economy, search within the Economics (ECO) database listing.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic or keyword.
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and summaries for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Indexes over 2,000 journals, books and other publications, with full-text for over 700 of them. (VIVA)
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
