Encyclopedia / Reference Search Tips
Since encyclopedia or reference articles focus on basic, general information about a topic, what you type in the search box should also be general:
YES: "Video Games"
YES: "Video Games" and "addiction"
NO: How does video game addiction affect the socialization of teenagers?
Consider an encyclopedia you may have used in the past, such as Wikipedia. A "best practices" approach is to search the encyclopedia for a relevant article. Then, use the resource list at the end of the entry to consult the original sources.
You can also consult an encyclopedia in our library, such as Britannica Academic. There is a website from the same publisher that could provide additional resources for your essay, ProCon.org.
Getting Started - Resources for Background Information
|
The Credo Reference database includes a great MindMap tool (see example at right) to help you brainstorm topic ideas.
You'll find another great brainstorming tool in the Opposing Viewpoints database: Click on "Browse Issues" to see a long list of topic ideas in alphabetical order.
Find more databases below: |
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
