Virtual Book Display
Web Sites
- The Field Museum - Learning Resources: World Cultures Bring the world to your classroom with resources that introduce students to the diversity of ancient and modern cultures. Using lesson plans, videos, and other resources, your students can learn to think like an archaeologist and investigate ancient cultures or gain an appreciation for the many communities that live around the world today.
Explore More Resources Through NOVA Libraries
Use library databases for free with your MyNOVA login to search for articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and more. See links below, or explore Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new window A wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window This resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA)
- Women’s Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies including feminist research. Areas covered include sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations and education. Sources include over 2,000 periodicals, and other sources such as newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, NGO studies and other grey literature. (VIVA)
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window A collection of reference articles on pop culture in America in the 20th century. Browse by decade. (NVCC)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Educational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels. (NVCC, VCCS)
- Kanopy Videos This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a large collections of films from leading producers. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos. (NVCC)
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic videos from many disciplines, including history, health, psychology, music, business, art, science, law, literature and education. (VIVA)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
