Virtual Book Display
Web Sites
- The New York Times - Well Guide: How to Meditate Meditation is a simple practice available to all, which can reduce stress, increase calmness and clarity and promote happiness. Learning how to meditate is straightforward, and the benefits can come quickly. Here, we offer basic tips to get you started on a path toward greater equanimity, acceptance and joy.
- Mayo Clinic - Meditation: A Simple, Fast Way to Reduce Stress Meditation can wipe away the day's stress, bringing with it inner peace. See how you can easily learn to practice meditation whenever you need it most.
- UCLA Health: Free Guided Meditations Guided mindfulness meditations.
Explore More Resources Through NOVA Libraries
Use library databases for free with your MyNOVA login to search for articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and more. See links below, or explore Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window (Formerly Health & Wellness Resource Center) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites. Appropriate for both student and consumer use. (NVCC)
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Citations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA)
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Large collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Educational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels. (NVCC, VCCS)
